Apps NewsNews & Analysis

WhatsApp Now Rolling Out Two-Step Verification to All Its Users

The WhatsApp two-step verification security feature, which had been under testing for several months, is finally being rolled out to all users of the app. With this feature, those who use WhatsApp on Android, iPhone, and Windows platforms will be able to verify their number when they install the app on a new device more securely. Users will have to provide a six-digit passcode (created by them using this feature) when registering your phone number with WhatsApp again – or any attempt to verify their phone number through the app.

In order to enable the optional WhatsApp security feature, users have to open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable, the company said in its release. Post enabling this feature, users will need to enter their chosen WhatsApp passcode, and optionally provide an email address so that they can recover their account even if they forget the passcode.

WhatsApp Two-Step Verification“This email address will allow WhatsApp to send you a link via email to disable two-step verification in case you ever forget your six-digit passcode, and also to help safeguard your account,” the company says on the FAQ page for the feature.

Notably, WhatsApp says that it does not verify this email address to confirm its accuracy. Therefore, it is highly recommend that users make sure that they provide an accurate email address so that they don’t end up locked out of their account if they forget their passcode.

Further, If you have WhatsApp two-step verification enabled, your phone number will not be permitted to reverify on the app within seven days of last using WhatsApp without your passcode.

This means that if you forget your own passcode, and did not provide an email to disable WhatsApp two-step verification, even you will not be permitted to reverify on the app within seven days of last using it, the company says.

“After these 7 days, your number will be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp without your passcode, but you will lose all pending messages upon reverifying – they will be deleted. If your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying,” it added.

To recall, the company started testing this the WhatsApp two-step verification feature in the beta version of its Android and Windows apps back in November last year.

Show More

Shubham Mishra

Founder and Chief Editor of PaidFreeDroid. Shubham likes to keep on top of tech world and loves to help people around him get through the day to day trouble they face with technology.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker